Business

Chai and Grill takeaway in Seven Kings offered for £149,999

CoGoGo is marketing Chai and Grill in Seven Kings, Ilford, for £149,999. The food and takeaway business reports annual revenue of £180,000 and net profit of £47,000, with six employees and established ordering channels on Deliveroo and Just Eat, according to its Daltons Business listing.

lake-a194b808-3deb-4495-be13-31a94ef6561b-0.webp

The business and asking price

Located at 612 High Road, Seven Kings, Ilford, IG3 8RF, Chai and Grill serves food and refreshments for dining and takeaway customers. The current owner has run it for one year and is selling to pursue other business interests, the listing says. The seller reference is B09816.

The asking price is roughly 3.2 times the reported net profit. For context, NewOwner's restaurant and takeaway buyer guide, published September 21, 2026, puts typical independent UK takeaway asking prices at £25,000 to £120,000 and sale multiples at 1.0 to 2.0 times seller's discretionary earnings, plus equipment. Chai and Grill's asking price and net-profit multiple exceed those benchmarks, although the guide uses seller's discretionary earnings rather than net profit.

Stock is valued at £2,000. The listing describes the business as non-relocatable, and additional confidential information can be requested, subject to a nondisclosure agreement where required.

Delivery channels and market context

Alongside its Deliveroo and Just Eat presence, the business has an Instagram account. CoGoGo identifies targeted social media campaigns, meal deals, a wider delivery area and local advertising as possible ways to develop sales. The listing does not disclose how much revenue comes from delivery platforms.

Platform charges vary across the industry figures cited by two buyer and marketing guides. Whito's UK takeaway data report, published in May 2026 and updated in October, puts Just Eat's commission at 14% for orders delivered by the restaurant and up to 30% when the platform handles delivery. Its reported range for Deliveroo and Uber Eats is 20% to 30%. Whito says commission on a £20 order can therefore amount to £2.80 to £6.00.

NewOwner's September guide gives a commission range of 25% to 35%, plus VAT, for orders through Deliveroo or Just Eat, with packaging adding another 3% to 5%. It also says aggregators generate 40% to 70% of gross takings at many urban takeaways. Neither guide's figures establish Chai and Grill's own platform charges or sales mix.

Whito estimates the wider UK takeaway and food delivery market at £23.6 billion, covering 50,078 businesses and 468,000 employees. Within that market, it values online food delivery at £14.3 billion and reports annual growth of 8% to 10%.

Lease, rent and business rates

The High Road premises are leasehold. A reported eight-year lease term remains subject to confirmation, while rent is listed at £1,916 a month, or £22,992 a year. Operating hours have not been confirmed; details of the layout, facilities and equipment are available on inquiry.

The financial information includes a £500 business rates figure but does not specify the payment period.

Redbridge Council, Ilford's local authority, says Retail, Hospitality and Leisure Relief ended March 31, 2026, with lower business rates multipliers taking effect April 1. The new Small Business RHL multiplier is 38.2p for each pound of rateable value on properties below £51,000. The council also identifies a redesigned Transitional Relief scheme and a 2026 Supporting Small Business Scheme. The listing does not establish how those provisions apply to these premises.

Staff and food business registration

Chai and Grill currently employs six people. NewOwner's guide says the Transfer of Undertakings (Protection of Employment) Regulations 2006, known as TUPE, provide for restaurant and takeaway employees to move automatically to the purchaser while retaining their existing pay, accrued holiday rights and continuity of service.

The guide also says a change of owner does not carry over the food hygiene rating. A purchaser must register with the local authority as a new food business operator at least 28 days before starting to trade, after which the council conducts a fresh inspection.

Small BusinessBusiness RatesLeasehold

Share

Twitter/XFacebookLinkedIn

Read also